Sooo…Your Driver’s License is being cancelled because you have an LSV without insurance.

T_LSVpersonal_2

Your first thought is…what is an LSV?  A Low Speed Vehicle is defined as a four wheeled electric or gas vehicle whose top speed is greater than 20 mph, but less than 25 mph.  Many LSV vehicles start out as golf carts and are converted.  The easiest way to tell the difference between a golf cart and an LSV is to look at Registration Numbers. A Golf Cart will have a Serial Number while an LSV will have a 17 digit Vehicle Identification Number.

If you happen to own an LSV and think you have it insured under your Homeowners Policy…..you are not properly insured.  The State of Florida requires the LSV to be insured under a Personal Auto Policy.  Without the proper coverage on file with the DMV, they will cancel your driver’s license.

A low speed vehicle may operate on streets where the posted speed limit is 35 mph or less. The vehicle can also cross intersecting roadways where the speed is greater than 35 mph.  An LSV must be registered with the Florida DMV and have a valid license plate and registration.  An LSV must be insured. Florida law requires PIP or No-Fault coverage and Property Damage Liability at a minimum. We strongly recommend Bodily Injury (BI), Uninsured Motorist (UM), and Medical Payments (MedPay) coverages.

Any low speed vehicle must be equipped with standard safety equipment. NHTSA requires these components: headlights, taillights, stoplights, front and rear turn signals, reflectors, parking brakes, rearview mirrors, windshields, safety belts, and vehicle identification numbers. Significantly, NHTSA does not require LSVs to have airbags, or other safety features beyond seatbelts since they are intended for low risk driving.

You must have a valid drivers license in Florida to operate an LSV……This is not your 12 year old.

Florida DMV has an informational brochure ….Low Speed Vehicles  .

SWFL Insurance Agency, Inc. has a carrier that will cover your LSV.  Call us at 239-265-9577.